President's Medal

President's Medal

President Scott S. Cowen established the Tulane University President's Medal in 1999. The medal is awarded at the sole discretion of the president to individuals who have distinguished themselves by their actions and who have contributed in some manner to the well-being of Tulane University or the city of New Orleans. Unlike the honorary degree, this award may commemorate deeds other than academic achievement. Designed by Professor Emeritus Franklin Adams, the front of the medal features a sculpted TU symbol. This university emblem was first used as an architectural symbol on the exterior of two historic buildings on the uptown campus, Tilton Hall and Robert C. Cudd Hall.




Recipients Position Year
Luis Guillermo Solís President of Costa Rica 2017
Hoda Kotb Co-host, NBC's Today Show and Dateline Correspondent 2016
Yvette Jones Executive Vice President for University Relations and Development 2016
Maya Rudolph Actress and Comedian 2015
Drew Brees New Orleans Saints Quarterback 2014
Michael White Jazz Artist and Educator 2014
Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews Musician and Founder of Horns for Schools 2012
Judith Rodin Rockefeller Foundation President 2012
Wendell Pierce Treme Star 2012
Wynton Marsalis Jazz Artist 2011
Anderson Cooper CNN Anchor and Author 2010
Rita Benson LeBlanc* Part Owner and Executive Vice President of the New Orleans Saints 2010
Gregg Williams* Defensive Coordinator of the New Orleans Saints 2010
Jonathan Vilma* Team Captain of the New Orleans Saints and Pro Bowl Linebacker 2010
Ellen DeGeneres Host of The Ellen DeGeneres Show 2009
James Carville National Political Commentator 2008
Mary Matalin National Political Commentator 2008
His Highness Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani Amir of the State of Qatar 2008
Brian Williams Managing Editor, Anchor of NBC Nightly News 2006
John Breaux United States Senator 2004
Jacques Chirac President of France 2002
Karlem "Ducky" Riess Professor and Marshal Emeritus 2002
William Safire New York Times Columnist 2002
Corinne Lindy Claiborne Boggs Former U.S. Representative from Louisiana and Ambassador to the Vatican 2001
Marian Wright Edelman President, Children's Defense Fund 2001
Walter Isaacson Editorial Director, Time Magazine 2000
Cokie Roberts ABC Co-Anchor, This Week with Sam Donaldson and Cokie Roberts 1999

* On behalf of the New Orleans Saints organization