August 17, 2012 5:41 AM
Photos from University Archives
"From 1909 until 1980, Tulane University was home to a football stadium. In fact, three different stadiums existed on campus during that span." So begins an informative little booklet put together by the staff of University Archives to support the exhibit "Ghostly Gridirons — Tulane Football Stadiums 1909-1980."
The exhibit, which continues through Oct. 13 at the archives located on the second floor of Jones Hall on the uptown campus, is a must-see for anyone interested in the history of local athletics and the arenas that house them.
After seven years of south Louisiana weather took its toll on the original wooden grandstand, a new concrete grandstand was dedicated on Oct. 27, 1917, between Freret and Willow Streets, in the area where Monroe Hall and Tulane Law School now stand.
The first game in "Sugar Bowl Stadium," located beyond Willow Street, took place against Auburn on Oct. 26, 1926. Several expansions over the years raised seating capacity from 35,000 to 80,000 by 1948.
More than 26,000 spectators witnessed Tulane prevail over Temple in the inaugural Sugar Bowl.
Three cheerleaders perform in 1951 for an enthusiastic crowd that included freshman students in their "green beanies."
The stadium's imposing entrance dominates the view from Willow Street. The medallion above the entrance was preserved and will be incorporated into the new campus stadium planned for 2014.
Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000 firstname.lastname@example.org