shadow_tr

mingzhu-tower


FACULTY


Richard A. Marksbury

Interim Director of Asian Studies
Dean, School of Continuing Studies
Associate Professor, Asian Studies
Research Interests:  South Asia, South Pacific, marriage, land tenure, caste systems
E-mail:  rmarksby@tulane.edu

Kumiko Akama
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests:  Japanese language
E-mail:  kakama@tulane.edu

Carl Bankston
Professor, Sociology
Research Interests:  Immigration, race/ethnicity, education, Asian-American studies
E-mail:  cbankst@tulane.edu

Guy L. Beck
Adjunct Professor, Asian Studies & Continuing Studies
Research Interests:  Religions of Asia, Asian music, Hinduism
E-mail:  beckg@tulane.edu

Kathleen E. Carlin
Adjunct Professor, Asian Studies and Continuing Studies
Research Interests:  Cultural anthropology, Vietnam, Micronesia
E-mail:  kcarlin@tulane.edu

Kai-man Chang
Assistant Professor, Communication and Asian Studies
Research Interests:  Asian film studies
E-mail:  kchang2@tulane.edu

Xiaojin Chen
Associate Professor, Sociology
Research interests:  Migration and Children's development in China, Life Course Criminology/Victimology, Mental Health among High-in-risk Populations, Application of Quantitative Research Methods.
Email:  xchen1@tulane.edu

Kukhee Choo
Professor of Practice, Communication and Asian Studies
Research Interests:  Japanese popular culture, trans-Asian media flows
E-mail:  kchoo@tulane.edu

Sudipta Das
Adjunct Professor, Asian Studies and Continuing Studies
Research Interests:  South Asian women, ancient and modern South Asia, Hindu philosophy
E-mail:  sdas3@tulane.edu

Kathleen E. Davis
Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese
Research Interests:  Traditional Chinese literature, China in Spanish Literature
E-mail:  kedavis@tulane.edu

Brian Demare
Assistant Professor, History
Research Interests:  Rural political culture during the Chinese revolution, propaganda, local arts & artists, power relations at the village level in China
E-mail:  bdemare@tulane.edu

Martin K. Dimitrov
Associate Professor, Political Science
Research Interests:  Chinese politics, regime resilience, property rights, legal reform
Email:  mdimitro@tulane.edu

Mai Do
Assistant Professor, International Health and Development
Research Interests:  Access and quality of care, gender, Vietnamese
E-mail:  mdo@tulane.edu

Shanshan Du
Associate Professor, Anthropology
Research Interests:  China, ethnicity, gender, cultural anthropology
E-mail:  sdu@tulane.edu

Hans W. Gruenig
Adjunct Professor, Philosophy and Continuing Studies
Research interests:  Buddhism, Asian and comparative philosophy, continental philosophy, human flourishing
Email: Gruenig@tulane.edu

Nancy Maveety
Professor, Political Science
Research Interests:  Judicial process, comparative judicial politics
E-mail:  nance@tulane.edu

Guoqin Qin
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests:  Chinese language, language pedagogy
Email: qgouging@tulane.edu

Antony Sandoval
Associate Professor, Theatre & Dance
Research Interest: Directing, creation of new theatrical works, Suzuki Method of Acting
Email: fsandova@tulane.edu

Victoria Tsai
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests:  Chinese language
E-mail:  ctsai1@tulane.edu

Allison Truitt
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Research Interests:  Socio-cultural anthropology, Vietnam, Southeast Asia, consumption and globalization, economic transformations
E-mail:  atruitt@tulane.edu

Mark Vanlandingham
Professor, International Health and Development
Research Interests:  Migration and health, disasters and health, immigrant health, Southeast Asia, HIV/AIDS
E-mail:  mvanlan@tulane.edu

Joseph Vuong
Adjunct Professor, Asian Studies and Continuing Studies
Research Interests:  Vietnamese language
E-mail:  jvuong@tulane.edu

Nina Wen
Instructor, Asian Studies and Continuing Studies
Research Interests:  Chinese language
E-mail:  nwen@tulane.edu

Michael Wood
Senior Professor of Practice, Asian Studies
Research Interests:  Early-modern and modern cultural history of Japan, East Asia, Pacific
E-mail:  mwood3@tulane.edu

Huimin Xie
Professor of Practice, Asian Studies
Research Interests:  Sociolinguistics, Chinese linguistics
E-mail:  hcxie@tulane.edu

Saeko Yatsuka-Jensen
Instructor, Asian Studies and Continuing Studies
Research Interests:  Japanese language
E-mail:  syatsuka@tulane.edu

Tulane University, Richard Marksbury, Asian Studies, 125 Gibson, New Orleans LA 70118 504-865-5555 rmarksby@tulane.edu