April 22, 2005

Good Morning:

Three of our students were recently honored with some of the nation’s top scholastic prizes. What makes these honors especially noteworthy is the fact that these students are all from Louisiana. This is evidence that our efforts to increase the enrollment of Louisiana students is paying off in a big way.

Virginia Claire Breedlove of Winnsboro has been named a 2005 Andrew W. Mellon Fellow. This honor, awarded to only 85 students each year, covers full tuition for the first year of graduate study and includes a one-year stipend of $17,500. The award supports exceptionally promising students as they pursue advanced study in the humanities. Claire is a triple major in African and African Diaspora studies, history and French. She plans to pursue a Ph.D. in African history at Johns Hopkins University this fall.

Jonathan R. Bakke of Baton Rouge and Erin M. Bowers of Gretna were both named Goldwater Scholars for 2005. This prestigious honor, which includes a $7,500 award, is given to students who have distinguished themselves in the fields of math and sciences and who demonstrate the potential to make significant contributions in their careers.

Jonathan, who is majoring in chemical engineering and plans to pursue a Ph.D., hopes to conduct research that will help increase the efficiency of industrial energy production and reduce pollution and waste. Erin, who is majoring in chemistry/molecular biology and plans to pursue a Ph.D., hopes to conduct research on enzyme structure and function in order to increase knowledge about enzymes and the workings of the body. Congratulations to these scholars who have brought honor and distinction to their home state and their home university.

Have a great Louisiana weekend,


Office of the President Emeritus, 1555 Poydras St, Suite 700, New Orleans, LA 70112 504-274-3638