In the News


May 2014



At the Tulane University Commencement ceremony, Scott Grayson, associate professor of chemistry, received the Suzanne and Stephen Weiss Presidential Fellowship that honor faculty members who have a sustained record of effective, inspiring and distinguished teaching. Recipients receive a special medal, $5,000 a year for four years, and permanent designation as a Weiss Fellow.

(Photo courtesy of Paula Burch)


April 2014

russ schmehl researcher award

April 10th, Professor Russell Schmehl was awarded the 8th Annual "Outstanding Researcher Award" by the School of Science Engineering with  a ceremony and followed by a reception..

(Photo courtesy of Linda Chevalier)

Congratulations to Clara Nyby who won the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship to perform
"Spectroscopic study of structure-dependent energy transport along polymer chains"

January 2014
Professor Bruce C. Gibb is the new (co) Editor-in-Chief for Supramolecular Chemistry (Taylor and Francis).

Mardi Gras Symposium 2014 to be held at Tulane on Feb. 28th.  Seven speakers: J. Fraser Stoddart (Northwestern University), Eric Anslyn (UT Austin), Normand Voyer (Laval University), Bradley Smith (University of Notre Dame), Philip Gale (University of Southampton, UK), Thorfinnur Gunnlaugsson (Trinity College Dublin), and Jonathan Sessler, (UT Austin) headline this one-day symposium.For more information see the symposium website here:  Mardi Gras Symposium 2014


Todd Grussenmeyer (Schmel group) wins the 2014 Gerhard Closs Student Award from the Inter-American Photochemical Society.  Todd will give an invited lecture at the annual meeting in January.

Scott Grayson awarded an ACS-PRF grant for studying hyper-branched polymer architectures.

Working on a NSF MRI grant, the Rubtsov group has developed the world’s first fully automated dual-frequency two-dimensional infrared spectrometer capable of scanning a wide range of frequencies from 800 to 4000 cm-1. Known as 2DIR for short, it gives scientists a powerful new method to study structural dynamics of complex molecules in solution. 











Robert Pascal's article (J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2013, 135, pp. 13235-7), highlighted in September 2nd C&E News.

The Schmehl group, in collaboration with groups  at UNO and the University of Oklahoma, was awarded a grant totaling $ 1.47 M from the Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative for work over the next three years on the effects of solar photochemical processes on the biotransformation of crude oil. The Tulane group will serve as a subcontractor for the work.


Professors Janarthanan Jayawickramarajah and Bruce C. Gibb begin to occupy laboratory space in the new Flower Hall for Research and Innovation.

Anderson Sunda-Meya (Xavier) and Brent Koplitz (Tulane) awarded a $500,000 NASA grant to provide research opportunities for undergraduate students in the New Orleans metro area.

The Department wishes to congratulate Joel Mague has just received a NSF MRI award for the, "Acquisition of a Single-Crystal, Micro-Source Diffractometer".


Professor James Donahue (co-authored with Professor Joel Mague) paper was featured on the cover of the July 2nd Issue of Inorganic Chemistry.  Read more:


Congratulations to Professor Joel Mague who's proposal "MRI: Acquistion of a Single Crystal, Micro-Source Diffractometer", has been recommended for funding by the Division of Chemistry.


The Department congratulates Professor Bruce C. Gibb who has just received a National Institutes of Health R01 grant to develop new models of the Hofmeister Effect.

Congratulations to Professor Jayawickramarajah who has just received a National Institutes of Health R01 grant to develop molecular recognition triggered protein-inhibitors that are selectively activated by oncogenic microRNA sequences.

Professor Jayawickramarajah has been promoted to full Program Member status at the Tulane Cancer Center.


Professor Scott M. Grayson has been promoted to the rank of  Associate Professor with tenure.  Professor Grayson has established a world-class research program focused on the precise control of macromolecular architecture, for a range of materials and medical applications, April 2012.


The Department of Chemistry is delighted to announce that Professor Bruce C. Gibb has joined the faculty.  Professor Gibb is an acknowledged world leader i supramolecular chemistry in the aqueous phase.  His research interests include the self-assembly of structurally-defined supramolecular entities utilizing the hydrophobic effect, nano-scale compartmentalization, as well as fundamental studies into bulk phenomena displayed by water and aqueous solutions.



On March 1, 2012 Professor Bruce Gibbs new laboratory opened.   Professor and Chair Brent Koplitz dedicated the lab with a ribbon cutting.  The new lab located in Percival Stern on the 5th floor is a state-of-the-art laboratory.

 The Tulane chemistry department prides itself in hosting world-class seminars, as well as outstanding social events.

August 2011 - Dr. Alex Burin presents presentation at LTD Conference in Heidelberg.  Read more on presentation.  More

July 1, 2011 -  Dr. James Donahue is promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure.

Introducing the departments first Newsletter (Newsletter, Vol. 1)

Professor Scott Grayson, JACS publications ranked in top 20 most cited papers of 2006.

Prof. Igor Rubtsov, receives NSF grants for work on 2-D time resolved IR spectroscopy.

Professor of Chemistry, Dr. James Donahue featured in Tulanian, The Magazine of Tulane University, Spring 2007. (read article)

School of Science and Engineering, 201 Lindy Boggs Center, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5764