Undergraduate Student Achievement Awards

Kenneth H. Kuhn, Sr. Memorial Award 2006

Undergraduate AwardsThis award recognizes the efforts of our biomedical engineering seniors who have participated in a year-long team design project. Design teams are assembled with three or four students who then meet with a disabled client from the New Orleans community and work during the senior year to design a device, process, or procedure to help that particular individual.

During the spring semester, the team designs are presented in a public show, and evaluated by a panel of judges, and we generally honor the team with the highest score by presenting certificates to the winners.

From 1993-2005, teams were able to count on the assistance of Kenneth H. Kuhn, our biomedical engineering lab coordinator and instructor who provided invaluable assistance to our students as they sought to take their ideas and make them into workable devices. The award was named in Kenny's honor in 2006.


2015 Team 37 Degrees: Jennifer Boudreaux, Thomas (Alex) Itin, Sabrina Lynch, Hakm Murad, Daniel Sazer
2014 Team Inventilator: Daniel Ash, Caroline Edwards, Stephen Lee, Connor MacCrimmon, Dylan Sylvester, George Torsilieri. Mentored by Prof. Gaver.
2013 Yoni Kaplan, Carrie Griffith, Kelly Smith, Ellie Rodebeck, Gisele Calderon
2012 Atman Dave, Matt Gianetti, Kristina Farragut
2011 John Pitre, Joan Lien, Hudson Chien
2010 Xavier Alvarez, Lin Bai, James Gallagher, Todd D. Johnson
2009 Danielle Gill, Chris Millan, Chris Rodell, Scott Vermeulen
2008 Taylor E. Moss, Anne Marie Norman, Molly Oehmichen, K. Noel Schexnayder
2007 Jonathan N. Byrd, Paul E. George, Henry W. Glindmeyer, Ziev B. Moses
2006 Megan Bevill, Tal Drori, Grey Nuttal, Jordan Sangerman

Alpha Eta Mu Beta Outstanding Student, 1984

Awarded to a junior in Biomedical Engineering based on Outstanding Scholarship:

2015 Reed M. Gioe 2014 David C. Sloas 2013 Jennifer E. Lastimosa
2012 Aubrey Kraft 2011 Hudson Chien 2010 Christina Yee
2009 Todd D. Johnson 2008 David W. Martin 2007 Samantha B. Weil
2006 Jonathan N. Byrd & Emily Florine 2005 Nathaniel C. Lawson 2004 William R. Winter
2003 William Yancey 2002 Albert J. Stolz 2001 Daniel John Jung
2000 Mary C. Maleckar 1999 Gregory Wilde 1998 James K. Wall
1997 Ezana M. Azene 1996 Vipul Kapoor 1995 Amelia Smith
1994 Brett M. Wingeier 1993 Angela L. Smith 1992 Michael B. Castor
1991 Laura A. Miller 1990 Jeff Emory 1989 George Liu
1988 Mark Cardinal 1987 Susannah W. Parrish 1986 Leilani Tamura
1985 Henry Pavy 1984 Mark Rubenstein  

Nissim Nathan Cohen Award, 1977

Given annually in memory of Nissim Nathan Cohen of the class of 1986 to the graduating senior in Biomedical Engineering who has contributed most to his class to his school and to the profession of Biomedical Engineering (formerly called the Award for Outstanding Service):

2015 Hakm Y. Murad 2014 Stephen J. Lee 2013 Angela M. Czesak
2012 Molly Kelly-Goss 2011 Seth Figueroa 2010 Xun Liu
2009 Jacques Levet 2008 Caroline M. Haas 2007 William C. Kethman
2006 Ryan P. Griffin 2005 Amber Renee Combs 2004 Alyssa M. Alter
2003 Meghana B. Kamath 2002 Rubén A. Rodríquez 2001 Kimberly A. Bridges
2000 Sylvester K. Johnson, III 1999 Paul George 1998 Ezana M. Azene
1997 Suzanne L. Baker 1996 Marc D. Bingham 1995 Brett M. Wingeier
1994 Douglas P. Kraus, Jr. 1993 Lamar Brand 1992 Laura A. Miller
1991 Rolf A. Grage 1990 Marta Villarraga 1989 Zillah Maria Oden
1988 Michael Artigues 1987 Erich W. Wolf, II 1986 Nissim N. Cohen
1985 Lacey Moore 1984 Nelson P. Trujillo, Jr. 1983 Hector A. Murra
1982 Marc J. Starer 1981 Henry Perez 1980 Patrick I. Borgen
1979 Francisco A. Arabia 1978 Kevin C. Dellsperger 1977 Tom Broaddus Price, Jr.

Tulane Biomedical Engineering Society Scholarship Award, 1977

Awarded to the biomedical engineering senior with the highest scholastic average:

  2015 David C. Sloas
2014 Jennifer E. Lastimosa 2013 Aubrey A. Kraft
2012 Matt Gianetti 2011 Christina Yee
2010 Todd D. Johnson 2009 David Martin
2008 Samantha B. Weil 2007 Jonathan N. Byrd, Emily Florine
2006 Nathaniel C. Lawson 2005 William R. Winter
2004 William Yancey 2003 Joseph Edward Olberding
2002 Mary C. Maleckar 2001 Maximillian E. Zimmer IV
2000 Lee P Lovejoy, Gregory Emmett Wilde, Jr. 1999 James Wall
1998 Ezana M. Azene 1997 Vipul Kapoor
1996 Matthew Parsons 1995 Brett M. Wingeier
1994 Angela L. Smith 1993 Michael B. Castor
1992 Laura A. Miller 1991 Shawn A. Lewis
1990 Roy Benaroch 1989 Mark Cardinal
1988 Susannah W. Parrish 1987 Leilani R. Tamura
1986 Henry G. Pavy 1985 Mark Rubenstein
1984 Jeffrey R. Balser 1983 Philip Mark Rickman
1982 Eugene F. May 1981 Kevin A. Thomas
1980 Debra A. Baehr 1979 Benson T. Massey
1978 David R. Chandler 1977 Richard Max Benator

Lindy Boggs Center Suite 500, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5897