Alumni Association

Alumni Board for 2011-12

Jerry Lewis Smith (MSW '04), President
Glener Sylvester (MSW '76), Secretary/Treasurer

Holly McKenney (MSW '96), Nominations and Leadership Committee Chair

Katie Callan Borne (MSW '06), Alumni Development Committee Chair
Anita Landry (MSW '00), Alumni Development Committee Vice Chair
Carissa Kolakauskas (MSW '07), Ex-officio Alumni Development Committee Member
Brooks Zitmann (MSW '09), Ex-officio Alumni Development Committee Member

Linda Osborne (MSW '81), Communications Committee Chair
Peter Nugent (MSW '09), Communications Committee Vice Chair

Dianne Barth (MSW '76), Member-at-large, Past-President
Mark Drake (MSW '03), Member-at-large
Bill Knecht (MSW '73), Member-at-large
Jennifer Wellborn (MSW '95), Member-at-large and TSSW liaison to the Tulane University Alumni Board


Alumni Board Spotlight

Brooks Zitzmann
Brooks Zitzmann, LMSW (MSW 09)

Brooks, staff counselor at Loyola University’s counseling center, was awarded the Ignatian Medal for Outstanding New Professional in Jesuit Student Affairs. The award, given at the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators conference, is conferred on individuals who have distinguished themselves in the early years of their careers. Established in spring 1997, the award is given annually.

“Whether coordinating Loyola's annual Take Back the Night event, meeting with students struggling with mental health issues, researching the resilience of a New Orleans-based Vietnamese community in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina or attending an Ignatian silent retreat, she embodies our mission in both words and action," said M.L. "Cissy" Petty, Ph.D., vice president for student affairs and associate provost.

Of particular note is Zitzmann's cutting edge work on Loyola's ADVOCACY Initiative. The AI program serves as a resource for victims of sexual assault and reaches out to train Loyola students, staff and faculty for emotional support, referral information and options for reporting.