Tulane President Receives Prestigious Honor

November 28, 2006

Michael Strecker
Phone: 504-865-5210

Tulane University President Scott S. Cowen will be honored by New York's Central Synagogue with their Twenty-Second Annual Shofar Award. The award is conferred on a Jewish individual of exceptional distinction who exemplifies the principles of Judaism. Cowen is being recognized for his work in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina in a Shabbat service on Dec. 1 at the Synagogue.

The annual presentation of the Shofar Award celebrates the principles and beliefs of Judaism and the Jewish people and recognizes an individual whose life and work represents those values, such as the tradition of tikkun olam or "repairing the world."

Past recipients of the Shofar Award have included: Norman Lear, David Halberstam, Felix G. Rohatyn, Barry Scheck, Esq., Judah Folkman, M.D., Charles E. Schumer and Marion Wiesel.

Cowen is being acknowledged as one of the principal figures working toward the restoration of New Orleans since Hurricane Katrina's devastation. He has been a leader in planning and rebuilding programs for his own institution, the city's public education system and local hospitals.

He is being recognized for both his efforts on behalf of the University, and his contributions to the rebirth of the Gulf Coast. Cowen is the first Jewish President of Tulane University and was awarded the Torch of Learning for Hebrew University in 1991.

"As we turned our attention to selecting this year's Shofar recipient, Dr. Cowen was a clear choice," said Peter Rubinstein, Senior Rabbi at Central Synagogue. "His determination to save the City of New Orleans when the situation seemed desperate, is a reflection of his commitment to the community that Tulane serves."

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000