Owl Club Awards

June 28, 2001

Fran Simon

The Owl Club is a student-run organization that evaluates teachers and courses at the medical school.

Outstanding department: Pediatrics

Student Advocacy Award: Wallace Tomlinson, associate dean of student affairs

Outstanding MD/MPH Adviser: Neil Boris, assistant professor of community health sciences

First Year Outstanding course: Physiology

Outstanding teaching awards: Louaine Spriggs, research assistant professor of structural and cellular biology (first semester); Michael G. Levitzky, adjunct professor of physiology (second semester)

Second Year Outstanding course: Immunology

Outstanding teaching awards: William P. Halford, assistant professor of microbiology and immunology (first semester); Craig W. Clarkson, professor of pharmacology (second semester)

Third Year Clinical Teaching Awards Family medicine: James Theis, assistant professor Psychiatry and neurology: Jeffrey Nicholl, assistant professor; Joseph Roniger, clinical assistant professor Surgery: Rodney B. Steiner, associate professor Obstetrics and gynecology: Chi Dola, assistant professor Medicine: Jeffrey G. Wiese, assistant professor Pediatrics: Daniel R. Bronfin, clinical professor

Fourth Year Outstanding professors: Marc J. Kahn, associate professor of medicine; Elma I. LeDoux, associate professor of medicine; Aml M. Raafat, assistant professor of surgery; Jeffrey G. Wiese, assistant professor of medicine

Citation information:

Page accessed: Saturday, May 28, 2016
Page URL:

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000