rss feed
NewWave Logo

Tulanians Awarded Accolades

October 31, 2006

Fran Simon

Honors and awards for public service and teaching lead this listing of recent accomplishments by Tulane University faculty and staff members.

Ronald Amedee, chair of the otolaryngology-head and neck surgery department in the School of Medicine, accepted a Goldstein Public Service Award on behalf of the department. The award, given by the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Foundation, is in honor of the department's heroic efforts and continued work to rebuild the medical infrastructure after the hurricanes of 2005.

Delia Anderson, director of training and assessment of professional skills for the medical school, serves as president of the Association of Standardized Patient Educators, an international organization that fosters patient-centered care.

Sharon Courtney, associate vice president for government affairs, was selected as one of the recipients of the 2006 Role Model Awards by the Young Leadership Council.

Carlos Davila-Caballero, formerly director of career development at the School of Law, has become assistant dean for career development and diversity initiatives.

Karen DeSalvo, chief of the section of general internal medicine and pediatrics in the School of Medicine, and Yvette Jones, senior vice president for external affairs and chief operating officer, were among 50 honorees chosen as Women of the Year by CityBusiness.

Linda Miller, residency program coordinator in the orthopaedics department, is serving as national president of the Association of Residency Coordinators in Orthopaedic Surgery.

L. Gabriel Navar, chair of physiology in the School of Medicine, received a lifetime achievement award from the Consortium for Southeastern Hypertension Control.

R. Edward Newsome Jr., chief of plastic and reconstructive surgery in the School of Medicine, was featured in "PlastyPod," a broadcast developed by the American Society of Plastic Surgeons as a "news and practice management tips" Internet radio show for plastic surgeons.

Laurie O'Brien, assistant professor of psychology in the School of Science and Engineering, received the Morton Deutsch Award in Germany. The International Society of Justice Research presents the award annually for the best article published in social justice research.

John W. Olson, assistant dean in the School of Continuing Studies at the Mississippi Gulf Coast campus in Biloxi, was presented with the president's award from the Rotary Club of Edgewater for outstanding service in the year 2005-06.

Susan Tucker, curator of books and records at the Newcomb College Center for Research on Women, won the Allen G. Noble Book Award from the Pioneer America Society for co-editing The Scrapbook in American Life. The award recognizes the best-edited book in the field of North American material culture.

Jeffrey Wiese
, physician and associate professor of medicine, is being honored with two different national awards for teaching. He is the recipient of the prestigious Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award, given by the American Association of Medical Colleges. The award recognizes excellence in medical student education. In addition, he is one of 10 residency program directors nationally who will receive the 2007 Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. He will receive the award in February.

Richard Witzig
, assistant professor of infectious diseases in the School of Medicine, authored a 500-page book, The Global Art of Soccer (Cusiboy Publishing, 2006).

Charley Zeanah, chief of child psychiatry in the School of Medicine, received the Irving Philips Award for Prevention from the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000