rss feed
NewWave Logo

Accolades Go to Tulane Faculty and Staff

July 18, 2007

The New Wave staff

Tulane University faculty and staff members have garnered accolades this summer for their scholarly work and accomplishments in their respective fields.


Jeanette Magnus of public health and tropical medicine has been named the first Cecile Usdin Professor in Women's Health. (Photo by Paula Burch-Celentano)

Here is a roundup of recent faculty and staff news.
Christopher Beaudoin, assistant professor of community health sciences in the Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, published a paper in the May issue of the Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved. This was a special issue focusing on the public health implications of hurricanes Katrina, Wilma and Rita. The paper, titled "News, Social Capital and Health in the Context of Katrina," assesses the public health functions played by news information and social capital in the context of Hurricane Katrina. In-depth interviews were conducted with hurricane shelter residents a few weeks after the storm.

Gerald Berenson, research professor of epidemiology in the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, was named an honorary alumnus of the Louisiana State University School of Medicine. The award was presented during the scientific session of the LSU Medical Alumni Weekend.

Richard Campanella, a research professor in the earth and environmental sciences department, received the Humanities Book of the Year award from the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities for his book, Geographies of New Orleans: Urban Fabrics Before the Storm. Campanella is associate director of the Tulane/Xavier Center for Bioenvironmental Research.

Scott Cowen, president of Tulane University, participated in two panels at "The Global Conference" produced by the Milken Institute. He spoke on "Rebuilding New Orleans" and "Crisis Management" at the conference, which brought together global leaders in business, finance, public policy, science, medicine and other fields to discuss and gain insight into important issues. Fellow panelists on the rebuilding panel were Andrew Young, former mayor of Atlanta, congressman, ambassador and civil rights leader who grew up in New Orleans; John Kallenborn, president of the New Orleans Region of JP Morgan Chase Bank, North America; Sean Cummings, president of ekistics Inc., a New Orleans-based real estate development firm; and Lt. Gov. Mitch Landrieu. The "Crisis Management" panel included Larry Silverstein, owner of the World Trade Center complex in New York; Los Angeles Police Chief William Bratton; and Bill Gray, co-CEO of Ogilvy & Mather, one of the world's most highly regarded advertising agencies.

Signe Ann Cutrone was named development director for the Acadiana Symphony Orchestra and Conservatory of Music, responsible for developing and expanding sources of funding for the orchestra. Cutrone is an adjunct professor in media arts in the School of Continuing Studies.

Gaurav Desai, associate professor and chair of English, has been awarded a Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowship for Recently Tenured Scholars. This fellowship, supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the American Council of Learned Societies, will allow Desai to spend one year in residence at the National Humanities Center in North Carolina. He will take up this residency in 2009-2010 to complete his book manuscript on the literary and cultural exchanges between India and Africa.

Joel Dinerstein, assistant professor of English, has received a visiting fellowship from the Harry Ransom Humanities Center in Austin, Texas. The fellowship will allow him to work in the archives of the Ross Russell Collection. Russell was an important postwar jazz scholar, producer and novelist, and is one of the few intellectuals whose work informs the interrelationships of jazz, film noir and existentialism, the three strands of Dinerstein's current book project.

Michael Kuczynski, associate professor of English, has received the Lester J. Cappon Fellowship in Documentary Editing awarded by the Newberry Library in Chicago. Kuczynski will use the fellowship to complete a critical edition of a Lollard psalter.

Jeffrey Lockman, professor of psychology, was named editor of Child Development, the flagship journal of the Society for Research in Child Development.

Jeanette Magnus is the first to be named the Cecile Usdin Professor in Women's Health. The professorship was given by Gene Usdin in memory of his wife, Cecile. Usdin received his undergraduate degree in 1943 and his medical degree in 1946 from Tulane. Magnus chairs the maternal and child health section in the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine.

L. Gabriel Navar, professor and chair of physiology, received the Robert W. Berliner Award during the 2007 Experimental Biology meeting held in Washington, D.C. The most prestigious award of the Renal Section of the American Physiology Society recognizes distinguished lifetime contributions to the field of renal physiology, including research, mentoring and service.

Darwin Prockop, director of the Tulane Center for Gene Therapy, was keynote speaker at the American Association of Anatomists meeting in Washington, D.C., held as part of Experimental Biology 2007 meeting. Prockop described two series of experiments that shed light on the previously mysterious mechanism through which stem/progenitor cells taken from a patient's own bone marrow enhance repair of damaged tissues.

Brad Robbert, operations director of the Shakespeare Festival at Tulane, was the winner of the New Theatre Restaurant Commercial Theater Institute Scholarship, given by New Theatre Restaurant and DramaBiz magazine. The scholarship, in honor of Fred B. Vogel, founder of the Commercial Theater Institute, allowed Robbert to attend a three-day seminar in New York on producing for commercial theater.

Martin Sachs
is the new chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance. Sachs, an associate professor of theater, serves as theater coordinator.

Felix "Buddy" Savoie
, professor of clinical orthopaedics, performed live surgery at a course in Annecy, France, to demonstrate repair of multi-directional shoulder instability and massive rotator cuff injury. Savoie also was a visiting instructor at a shoulder symposium at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., speaking on arthroscopic management of shoulder instability. Savoie is director of the Tulane Institute of Sports Medicine.

For the third year, Alan Silver, director of casino resort studies in the School of Continuing Studies, was appointed to serve as a judge for the American Gaming Association Awards, which recognize outstanding financial and corporate communications in gaming.

Eric Wedig and Jeannette Hunter, members of the Howard-Tilton Memorial Library staff, spoke at the American Association of Law Libraries 100th Annual Meeting and Conference. Titled "Rise to the Challenge," their presentation talked about how library staff rose to the challenges after Hurricane Katrina.

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000