shadow_tr
Tulane Sociology

 

 

Regular Faculty



Dr. Michele Adams 

Michele Adams, Chair

Associate Professor (Ph.D. University of California, Riverside)

204 Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3015
madams2@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Family, Gender, and Culture, Gender Arrangements in Families, Cultural "Family Values" Wars, Relationship Formation, Marriage and Divorce, Parental Alienation Syndrome and Family Promotion Movements.

Profile | CV | Website
 
 Bankston in Jackson Square Spring 09 

Carl L. Bankston III

Professor (Ph.D. Louisiana State University)

217B Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3024
cbankst@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Immigration, Race/Ethnicity, Education, Asian Studies.

Profile | CV | Website



 Dr. Xiaojin Chen

Xiaojin Chen

Associate Professor (Ph.D. Iowa State University)

220H Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3008
xchen1@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Migration and Children's development in China, Life Course Criminology/Victimology, Mental Health among High-in-risk Populations, Application of Quantitative Research Methods.

Profile | CV | Website

 Dr. Joel A. Devine

Joel A. Devine

Professor (Ph.D. Indiana University)
Director, Urban Studies

216 Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3003
devine@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Urbanization, Urban Policy & Development, Sociology of Film, Political Economy.

Profile | CV | Website

 gotham-photo

Kevin Fox Gotham

Professor (Ph.D. University of Kansas)
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs (School of Liberal Arts)

215 Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3004
kgotham@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Social Theory, Urban Sociology, Historical Sociology, Economic Sociology, Sociology of Culture, Political Sociology, and Sociology of Law and Public Policy.  

Profile | CV | Website

 kjohnson

Katherine Johnson

Assistant Professor (Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University)

220E Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3016
kjohns25@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Sociology of Reproduction; Sociology of Health, Illness, and Healthcare; Family Sociology; Sociology of Gender, Feminist Theory 

Profile | CV | Website

kato 2014 

Yuki Kato

Assistant Professor (Ph.D. University of California, Irvine)

220I Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3010
ykato@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Urban/Suburban Sociology, Urban Agriculture, Urban Vacancy, Social Stratification, Qualitative Methodologies, Sociology of Adolescence and Youths, Sociology of Culture.

Profile | CV | Website

 

 

Amalia Leguizamon

Assistant Professor (Ph.D. CUNY Graduate Center)

220D Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3009
aleguiza@tulane.edu

Research Interests: 

Profile | CV | Website

Dr. Laura McKinney

Laura McKinney

Assistant Professor (Ph.D. North Carolina State University)

220 2A Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3013
lauramc@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Environmental Sociology; Global Social Change and Development; Global and Local Sustainability; Rural and Community Development; Quantitative Methodologies.

Profile CV | Website
   












 Dr. David G. Ortiz
 

Chris Oliver

Professor of Practice (Ph.D. Michigan State University)

220 A1 Newcomb Hall
(504)865-5541
coliver6@tulane.edu

Research Interests: 

Profile | CV | Website


David G. Ortiz

Assistant Professor (Ph.D. University of Notre Dame)

220B Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3019
dortiz@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Social Movements, Civic Engagement, Collective Violence, State Repression,Time-diffusion of Social Processes, PoliticalSociology, Internet Communication Technologies (ICTs) and Digital Media, Latin America, Research Methods.

Profile | CV | Website

Dr. Stephen Ostertag

 

Stephen Ostertag

Assistant Professor (Ph.D. University of Connecticut)

220F Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3023
sosterta@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Cultural Sociology, Media Sociology, Cognition, Crime and Incarceration, Social Control.

Profile | CV | Website

Rafail


Patrick Rafail

Assistant Professor (Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University)

220C Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3001
prafail@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Social Movements and Collective Behavior, Applied Statistics, Political Sociology, Social Control, Complex Organizations, Urban Policing, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing

Profile | CV | Website

Schippers-sq

Mimi Schippers

Associate Professor (Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison)

206 Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3011
mimi@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Sexuality, Gender, Social Theory, Feminist Theory, Queer Theory, Culture.

Profile | CV | Website

Smilde

David A. Smilde

Charles A. and Leo M. Favrot Professor of Social Relations (Ph.D. University of Chicago)

212 Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3012
dsmilde@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Sociology of culture, Sociology of religion, Social movements, Political sociology, Human rights, and Latin America 

Profile | CV | Website

Return to top

 

 Adjunct and Visiting Faculty






William Ross Bryan

Adjunct Professor

212 Newcomb Hall
(504)247-1524
wbryan2@tulane.edu




 Dr. Rhoda Carr

Rhoda Carr

Adjunct Assistant Professor

217C Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3005
rcarr@tulane.edu

Courses: Marriage and Family





Toi Jean Carter

Adjunct Assistant Professor

217D Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3014
tcarter7@tulane.edu




 Dr. John Hall

John Hall

Adjunct Assistant Professor

217C Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3005
jhall@tulane.edu

Courses: Deviant Behavior, Social Problems, Criminology, Foundations of Sociology, Sociology of the Family






Robert Kappel

Adjunct Professor

212 Newcomb Hall
(504)862-3005
rkappel@tulane.edu




Esra Ozcan

Adjunct Professor

219 Newcomb Hall
(504)865-5730
eozcan@tulane.edu






Return to top

 Professors Emeriti

 Dr. Martha K. Huggins

Martha K. Huggins

(Ph.D. University of New Hampshire)
mhuggins@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Labor Control and Repression, State-Related Vigilantism, U.S. International Policing as Political Control in Latin America, Marginalization of Brazilian 'Others', Torture and Assassination.

Profile | CV | Website

Dr. Fred Koenig
 


Fred Koeing

(Ph.D. University of Wisconsin)


Research Interests: Sociology of Aging, Social Psychology, Sociology of Rumors.
 Dr. Edward Morse


Edward V. Morse

(Ph.D. Cornell University)


Research Interests: Medical Sociology, Sociology of Law




In Memoriam

 brayfield-photo


April Brayfield

Associate Professor (Ph.D. University of Maryland at College Park)

April Brayfield died on the morning of Tuesday, December 13, 2011. Her friends and colleagues remember her as a valuable person in their lives and as a model of a university professor.




Staff

 Mary Enright


Mary Enright

Secretary

220 Newcomb Hall
Phone: (504)862-3000
Fax: (504)865-5544
menrigh@tulane.edu


Tulane University, Department of Sociology, 220 Newcomb Hall, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5820 menrigh@tulane.edu