Award Winning Student Writing 

The Purvis E. Boyette Memorial Award

The Purvis E. Boyette Memorial Award Fund was established as an endowed fund in 1988 through the generosity of friends and family of the late Professor Purvis E. Boyette. The income from this fund is to be used for prizes in a freshman English essay contest.

Purvis E. Boyette was an Associate Professor in the English Department at the time of his sudden death in 1987. Mr. and Mrs. Birdsong, parents of one of Professor Boyette's students, and his mother, Mrs. Lena W. Boyles, provided the seed money for this fund, which was added to by many others. This fund is actually the endowment for an award which had been made annually by the English Department for several years. The department faculty voted to name this prize the Purvis E. Boyette Memorial Award in honor of their highly-respected colleague, after his untimely death.

Spring 2014 Boyette Prize Winners

1st Place - Kaitlin Bushkoff

2nd Place - Gracie Markland

Past Winners

Fall 2013

1st Place - Evan Cole

2nd Place - Sebastian Mueller


Spring 2013

1st Place - Daniel Etzioni

2nd Place - Caranina Palomino

Fall 2012

1st Place - Mysia Dye

2nd Place - Scott Spiegel

Spring 2012

1st Place - Ashley Richardon

2nd Place - Dayton Hunn

Fall 2011

1st Place - Carly Asher

2nd Place - Max Seidman

Spring 2011

1st Place - Nora Maria Fuller

2nd Place - Andrew Jones

Fall 2010

1st Place - Hokan Holmquist

2nd Place - Jessica Hatch

Spring 2010

1st Place - Jari Honora

2nd Place - Peter Tzioumis

Fall 2009

1st Place - Josh Micley

2nd Place - Emily Rodkin

Spring 2009

1st Place - Sarah Bobker

2nd Place - Lauren Vosseller

Fall 2008

1st Place - Andrew Goltzer

2nd Place - Abigail Readinger

Spring 2008

1st Place - James Tekkipe

2nd Place - Jennifer Marks

Fall 2007

1st Place - Logan Holzman

2nd Place - Reed Wendorf-French

Spring 2007

1st Place - Anna Whalen

2nd Place - Anna Whalen

Fall 2006

1st Place - Katherine Ellison

Spring 2006

1st Place - Carol MacDonald

2nd Place - Matt Dunham

Spring 2005

1st Place - Sarah Yazdian

2nd Place - Anna Cowan

Fall 2004

1st Place - Thomas Boothby

2nd Place - Arianna Dart

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000