shadow_tr

Message from the Dean

Carole Haber

Dean

Carole Haber

Professor of History

chaber@tulane.edu


As the Dean of the School of Liberal Arts, I am delighted to welcome you to the web pages of the recently created School of Liberal Arts at Tulane University. Developed as part of Tulane’s Renewal Plan following Hurricane Katrina, we encompass the arts, humanities and social sciences through fifteen departments and eighteen interdisciplinary programs as well as the Newcomb Gallery of Art, the Carroll Gallery, Shakespeare Festival, Summer Lyric Theatre, and the Middle American Research Institute.   

As you navigate through the pages, I hope you will see how remarkable the School of Liberal Arts is.  Our small classes allow students to be active learners directly engaged with their courses. With a broad array of majors, minors, Master’s and Ph.D. programs, students can choose to specialize in a wide number of fields, developing long-standing interests or discovering new passions. Engaged in the liberal arts, they not only learn key skills of writing, analysis and communication but come to better understand both themselves and the world beyond.

In this journey of discovery, our students are guided by internationally recognized scholars and artists. As leaders in their respective fields, our faculty are actively engaged in cutting-edge research and creative activities. Noted for their quality of being outstanding scholar-teachers, they bring the excitement of their research into the classroom.  

And, of course, there is New Orleans. Serving as a center for learning and service, this extraordinary city provides opportunities matched by none other. Not only can students become immersed in the unique culture of the region, but they participate in course-related projects that apply their academic skills to community needs. As a result, in the course of the time at Tulane, the city comes to define who they are, as they become part of New Orleans.

I therefore invite you to explore the School of Liberal Arts through its website and plan a visit to the campus.   You will discover a vibrant academic community that engages the mind as it does the heart.

CaroleHaberSignature

Dean's Office

MClark

Associate Dean for Finance & Planning (Interim)

Mary Clark

Associate Professor of Political Science

maclark@tulane.edu


DanielCrop220x180

Senior Director of Development

Daniel P. Bozard

dbozard@tulane.edu



Tara Hamburg

Assistant Dean

Tara Allison Hamburg

tara@tulane.edu


LPhipps

Development Officer
Lauren Phipps
lphipps@tulane.edu


Nicole Westerfield

Program Manager

Nicole Westerfield

nicole@tulane.edu


pentes

Web Manager / Multimedia Development Specialist

Arielle Pentes

apentes@tulane.edu


Kevin Gotham

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Kevin Gotham

Professor of Sociology

kgotham@tulane.edu


Shellond Chester

Assistant Dean for Finance

Shellond Chester

shellond@tulane.edu


AnnSchumacher

Director for Liberal Arts Graduate Programs

Ann Schumacher

aschumac@tulane.edu


Anna Charles

Senior Executive Secretary

Anna Charles

acharles@tulane.edu


Casey_Leblanc2

Executive Secretary

Casey LeBlanc

leblancc@tulane.edu


Laurie

Program Manager, Coordinated Undergraduate Giving
Laurie Martin
lmarti1@tulane.edu



Tulane University, School of Liberal Arts, 102 Newcomb Hall, New Orleans, LA  70118, (504) 865-5225, liberalarts@tulane.edu