Office Hours:
Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Mailing Address:
Center for Public Service
Alcee Fortier Hall
6823 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118

Phone: 504-862-8060
Fax: 504-862-8061


facebook-logo   twitter   youtube instagram_1

For more information contact:

Katie Houck

Other Award Opportunities

The Center for Public Service supports students, faculty, staff, and community partners working to better local, regional, national, and international communities. Through different awards, CPS is able to recognize these people and the work they are doing.

Campus Compact

The Newman Civic Fellows Award honors inspiring college student leaders who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country. Through service, research, and advocacy, Newman Civic Fellows are making the most of their college experiences to better understand themselves, the root causes of social issues, and effective mechanisms for creating lasting change. These students represent the next generation of public problem solvers and civic leaders. They serve as national examples of the role that higher education can—and does play in building a better world.

2013: Nhu Ngoc Pham
2012: Derek Rankins
2011: Sam Tabory


Gulf South Summit

The Gulf-South Summit Award for Outstanding Student Contributions to Service-Learning will be given to a full or part-time undergraduate student who has demonstrated extraordinary public or community service efforts while attending an institution of higher education.  The Outstanding Student Contributions to Service-Learning Award recipient will receive a plaque in recognition of his/her accomplishments in addition to $500. 

2011: Laura White


The Pearson Foundation

The Pearson Foundation is proud to present the Pearson Prize for Higher Education, a two-tiered award that identifies students who are giving back to the community.  The Pearson Prize supports students who have: completed at least one year of college; demonstrated leadership in community service; and been attending a two- or four-year school.

2011: Lea Bogner

The Jim Runsdorf Excellence in Public Service Student Award

The Jim Runsdorf Excellence in Public Service Student Award recognizes students who demonstrate social responsibility and awareness of community needs through significant contributions to the community. These committed student leaders embody the best practices of civic engagement and show dedication to the rebuilding efforts in the city of New Orleans.

2013: Melissa Herman and Michelle Liu
2012: Lea Boger and Laura White
2011: Benjamin Zucker and Matthew Peters
2010: Teddy Nathan and Frances Nguyen
2009: Lauren Anderson
2008: Anne Marie Norman and Kelly Holmes

Louisiana Volunteer Service Awards

Louisiana Champions of Service Awards
2013: Nhu Ngoc Pham

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 - Some photos courtesy of the Peace Corps -