I. Driver Requirements
II. Safety Criteria and Use Restrictions
III. Loss of Driving Privileges
IV. Accidents, Breakdowns and/or Traffic Violations
V. Rental Vehicles by Students
VI. Administration of ASB Motor Pool Policy
a. All student drivers of University vehicles must have a valid U.S. driver's license. Foreign students may transfer an out-of-country driver's license to a Louisiana driver's license by following the procedures specified by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety, Office of Motor Vehicles (Go to Frequently Asked Questions »Driver's License »How do I transfer my out-of-country driver's license? or call 1-877-368-5463).
b. All student drivers of University vehicles shall authorize the University to obtain a current Motor Vehicle Registry report (MVR) from the issuing state of the driver's operating license and shall complete and sign a Motor Vehicle Report Consent and Information Form. The MVR check shall be conducted on at least an annual basis, and more frequently if determined to be necessary by the Office of Insurance & Risk Management. In considering whether to authorize a driver to operate a University vehicle, the following criteria will be used:
i. No major violations in driving history (major violations include, but are not limited to, DWI, DUI, vehicular or negligent homicide, reckless, careless or negligent driving, hit and run, use of motor vehicle while committing a felony, eluding a police officer, drag racing, license suspension, and driving while license suspended.
ii. No at-fault accident(s) in driving history.
iii. No speeding violations of 20 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit in the last five (5) years.
iv. No more than 1 moving violation (other than a speeding violation of 20 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit) in the last five (5) years.
It is the responsibility of each proposed student driver to report on the Motor Vehicle Report Consent and Information Form any and all traffic violations for which a conviction was rendered, even if such violation will not be reported on such driver's MVR. Failure to do so will result in termination of driving privileges.
c. All student drivers must satisfactorily complete two online driver safety courses with a score of 90% or above. The frequency of the courses will be determined on an as needed basis by the Office of Insurance & Risk Management, but in no event shall a driver be required to complete the courses more than once annually. To enroll in the courses, contact either the Student Organization Resource Associate (504-865-5116) or the Office of Insurance & Risk Management (504-865-5653).
d. All student drivers must satisfactorily complete a short driving evaluation/road test with a proctor approved by the Student Organization Resource Associate. The frequency of this evaluation will determined on an as needed basis by the Office of Insurance & Risk Management, but in no event shall a driver be required to complete this evaluation more than once annually.
e. All student drivers must sign the Terms, Conditions, Rules, Regulations and Safety Acknowledgement for ASB Drivers Form, once per semester, before being permitted to drive a University vehicle.
f. Dependent upon the type of vehicle sought to be driven and the desired destination, student drivers must meet the following minimum driving experience requirements:
i. For local use (defined as Orleans, Jefferson and St. Bernard parishes) of University minivans, SUVs and passenger vehicles other than 12-passenger vehicles, all drivers must have at least one (1) year of driving experience (determined from the date of license issuance).
ii. For use of University minivans, SUVs and passenger vehicles for other than local use, and for local use of University 12-passenger vehicles, all drivers must have at least two (2) years of driving experience.
iii. For non-local use of University 12-passenger vehicles, all drivers must have at least three (3) years of driving experience.
If a student fails to meet these minimum requirements and qualifications, such student will not be approved to drive any University vehicle.
a. Prior to departure, the driver must ensure that the side-view and rear-view mirrors are set appropriately to maximize the driver's view and to minimize possible blindspots.
b. All vehicle occupants are required to wear seat belts while the vehicle is in motion. The vehicle must not be operated unless all passengers are properly belted.
c. At no time shall the number of occupants exceed the maximum capacity of the vehicle.
d. The speed limit and all state and federal traffic laws shall be obeyed at all times. 12-passenger vans, however, shall not be driven in excess of 60 miles per hour regardless of whether the speed limit is in excess of 60 mph.
e. The driver must refrain from alcohol consumption for at least 24 hours before driving, and shall take prescription and over-the counter medication with caution.
f. The use of illicit drugs by a driver or any other vehicle occupant shall be strictly prohibited at all times.
g. No cell phone use by the driver is allowed while the vehicle is in motion. Additionally, in accordance with Louisiana state law (La. R.S. 32.300.5), the driver will be prohibited from writing, reading or sending text-based communications while operating the vehicle.
h. No eating or drinking by the driver is allowed while the vehicle is in motion.
i. No driver shall be permitted to drive more than 250 miles in a 12-hour period. Consequently, there shall be a separate authorized driver for every 250 miles to be driven in a 12-hour period.
j. Between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m., the vehicle will be driven no more than two (2) hours cumulatively, regardless of the number of authorized drivers in the vehicle.
k. No towing is allowed unless the vehicle is a truck specifically set up with towing capabilities.
l. Absolutely no cargo or equipment shall be permitted to be carried or stored upon the roof of any vehicle.
m. In all vans, passengers shall be loaded to the front of the vehicle first.
n. When loading a van with cargo, weight should be distributed evenly side-to-side and front to back.
o. Drivers shall at all times be well-rested and focused on driving duties. No loud music or other driver distractions will be permitted.
p. Only University-affiliated passengers (which includes members or coaches of student organizations who are neither employees or students of the University) will be permitted to be transported in any vehicle.
q. No vehicle shall be driven off-road.
r. Always turn the vehicle off, remove the keys, and lock the vehicle when it is unattended.
s. Drivers shall at all times during operation of a University vehicle have a valid driver's license on their person and shall ensure that the vehicle's registration documents and insurance card are in the glove compartment.
t. Drivers will only drive University vehicles for authorized University activities and under no circumstances will the vehicle be used for personal business.
a. Operating a vehicle without a valid driver's license.
b. Failure of a driver to report suspension or revocation of his/her driver's license.
c. Operating a vehicle outside of the scope of the destination or school-related activity.
d. Violating any of the safety criteria enumerated in Section 2 above.
e. Operating a vehicle in a reckless or unsafe manner.
f. Failure to report an accident involving a University vehicle to the Department of Public Safety, the Office of Insurance & Risk Management, or to the Student Organization Resource Associate, and/or failure to report a traffic violation incurred during use of a University vehicle to the Office of Insurance & Risk Management or to the Student Organization Resource Associate.
g. Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
h. An at-fault accident, whether occurring during business or personal use of any vehicle.
i. An unacceptable MVR, as determined in accordance with the criteria set forth in Section 1 above.
If a student's driving privileges are suspended, the student may reapply for driver certification status after the time period for the imposed suspension has elapsed.
a. In the event of an accident while driving a University vehicle, drivers should follow these instructions:
i. Take whatever steps are immediately necessary to render emergency medical care, salvage property, or reduce the further extent of the loss. If possible, do not disturb the evidence or hazard which caused the claim until the conditions are recorded.
ii. Report the accident at once to the local police department or highway patrol. Get the police item or report number, the police officer's name, badge number, and department. If the information provided at the scene does not have a telephone number, get a number where the police department can be called.
iii. Do not admit liability under any circumstances. In the stress of the moment, something might be said that can be incorrectly construed as admission of fault for an accident that might have been caused by another driver. Be courteous, be helpful, give aid as needed, but stop there.
iv. Complete the Tulane Accident form (a copy should be kept in the glove compartment of all University vehicles) with allof the information while at the scene. Specify as many facts (not opinions) as you can that will help determine who was at fault. Note any objects that may have impaired your vision. Do not leave the scene without the name, address, phone number and insurance company of other drivers involved.
v. Get written driver and witness statements where possible. If you have a camera or a camera cell phone with you, take some pictures. The police may not take pictures and it will be beneficial to all parties involved if the accident scene and damages are documented.
vi. Report the accident to the Office of Insurance & Risk Management (504-865-5653) as soon as you can get to a phone. If it is after normal business hours and voice mail is on, LEAVE A MESSAGE and then contact the Department of Public Safety at 504-865-5200 or 504-865-5381. When you get back to campus, fax the Tulane Accident form and any written statements to the Office of Insurance & Risk Management (504-862-8766). You are also responsible for obtaining a copy of the police report (which should be available 10 working days after accident). When you receive the report, fax it to the Office of Insurance & Risk Management at the above number or mail it to 300 Gibson Hall.
vii. It is the responsibility of the department to get the University vehicle to a repair shop; if a repair shop has been designated by our claims administrator, then the department shall take the University vehicle to such designated repair shop
i. Immediately report the incident to Public Safety at 504-865-5200. If there is an accident with injury they can call TEMS or the City's ambulance service to provide first aid and transportation to a hospital. The Office of Insurance & Risk Management cannot pay any on-campus claim without a Public Safety Report. Also, report the accident to the Office of Insurance & Risk Management (504-865-5653) as soon as you can get to a phone. If it is after normal business hours and voice mail is on, LEAVE A MESSAGE.
ii. Follow steps a, c, and g outlined above for off-campus accidents.
b. Immediately report any problems which make the operation of a vehicle unsafe to the Department of Public Safety (504-865-5381), which shall notify either the Student Organization Resource Associate (865-5116) or the Office of Insurance & Risk Management (504-865-5653). DO NOT OPERATE THE VEHICLE.
c. The University will not be responsible for personal cost or inconvenience that may occur because of a vehicular breakdown or accident. ASB will arrange for the repair and/or return of the vehicle. However, the individual, organization/group or department using the vehicle is responsible for all other costs related to breakdowns or accidents, including but not limited to food, lodging and alternative transportation.
d. An amount up to $2500.00 will be charged to ASB for any claim (including but not limited to damage to the vehicle, or property damage or bodily injury liability) arising out of use by any student driver allowed to drive a University vehicle through ASB.
e. Any traffic violations incurred while driving a University vehicle must be reported to the Student Organization Resource Associate (504-865-5116), which shall report such violations to the Office of Insurance & Risk Management (504-865-5653). The Student Organization Resource Associate shall retain records of such violations for a period of at least five (5) years.
f. Drivers shall personally assume responsibility for any and all fines, penalties or traffic violations associated with use of any University vehicle. The University will not defend any driver who has operated a University vehicle in violation of traffic laws or these ASB Policies and Safety Rules.
a. Subject to approval, students will be permitted to rent full-size vehicles, including mini-vans, through the University's agreement with Enterprise Leasing Company of New Orleans, for University-sponsored activities or business. No rentals of 12-passenger or 15-passenger vans shall be permitted by student drivers.
b. THE PROVISIONS OF SECTIONS 2 AND 3 ABOVE SHALL APPLY TO ALL VEHICLE RENTALS BY STUDENTS FOR UNIVERSITY-SPONSORED ACTIVITIES OR BUSINESS, AND TO THE EXTENT APPLICABLE, SECTION 4 SHALL ALSO APPLY.
c. Unless specifically approved by the Office of Insurance & Risk Management, the drivers for all rental vehicles shall be at least 21 years of age. In requesting approval to allow a student under the age of 21 to rent a vehicle, the Office of Insurance & Risk Management must be provided with the following information by an advisor:
i. The nature of the proposed trip, destination, anticipated dates and times of travel, and the name of the organization.
ii. The number of passengers, including the proposed driver, and all of their names and dates of birth.
iii. The reason(s) that a driver age 21 or older will not be available for the proposed trip.
Upon receipt of all of the requested information, the Office of Insurance & Risk Management will advise the Student Organization Resource Associate within three (3) business days whether or not the request will be approved. An acceptable MVR and successful completion on online driver training will also be required for any student driver under the age of 21.
a. The Student Organization Resource Associate shall be responsible for monitoring student compliance with the ASB Motor Pool Policies and Safety Rules and for administration of the ASB Motor Pool Policies. The Student Organization Resource Associate shall ensure that all required training has been completed and all required forms have been completed and signed before permitting any student to drive a University vehicle. A monthly log of all students approved to drive University vehicles shall be maintained and sent to the Office of Insurance & Risk Management at the end of each month.
b. The Student Organization Resource Associate shall maintain an up-to-date and accurate list of proposed student drivers, which shall include the following information, and which shall be password protected:
i. Name of driver
ii. Date on which driver initially received license to drive
iii. Whether online driver training has been successfully completed*
iv. Whether driving evaluation/road test has been successfully completed
v. Whether the driver has been approved to drive and if so, the level of permission given (type of vehicle allowed and whether local or non-local use is allowed)*
vi. Whether the ASB Terms, Conditions, Rules and Regulations Form has been signed during the current semester
*to be provided by the Office of Insurance & Risk Management
c. The Student Organization Resource Associate shall notify the Office of Risk Management & Insurance when an MVR must be obtained for a proposed new student driver and shall provide a completed Motor Vehicle Report Consent and Information Form (MVR Consent Form). The MVR Consent Form shall be maintained by the Office of Insurance & Risk Management in a locked filing cabinet for a period of no more than five (5) years, after which time such MVR Consent Form shall be shredded before being discarded. The MVRs will be retained online with a third party vendor for a period of no more than five (5) years. If at any time the third party vendor's service is no longer utilized or available, the Office of Insurance and Risk Management shall retain hard copies of the MVRs for a similar period, after which time such MVRs shall be shredded before being discarded.
d. The records for completion of online training shall be retained online with the third party vendor for no more than five (5) years.
e. The Student Organization Resource Associate shall maintain documentation of each driver's successful completion of the driving evaluation as well as each executed ASB Terms, Conditions, Rules and Regulations Form for a period of no more than five (5) years, after which time such information shall be shredded and discarded.
f. The Student Organization Resource Associate shall ensure that all offenses by a driver that are enumerated in Section 3 above, Loss of Driving Privileges are reported to the Office of Insurance & Risk Management.
g. ASB shall be responsible for the costs of obtaining MVRs and shall promptly pay the Office of Insurance & Risk Management for same. Failure to promptly make such payments may result in a delay in processing additional MVR requests. The Office of Insurance & Risk Management will only be responsible for initial set-up costs charged by the MVR vendor.
h. ASB shall be responsible for all costs associated with the online driver safety course and shall promptly pay the Office of Insurance & Risk Management for same.
 For a copy of the Business Rental Preferred Rate Agreement or specifics on various terms and conditions of the Agreement, contact the Office of Insurance & Risk Management, 504-865-5653.
Office of Insurance & Risk Management, 324 Gibson Hall, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5653 firstname.lastname@example.org