Faculty 


Michele Adams_squareMichele Adams

Associate Professor, Chair, Department of Sociology

 (504) 862-3015

 madams@tulane.edu

Sociology of marriage and family, sociology of gender, sociology of culture, social theory, and social psychology 

 


Richard-Ager_0045_1

Richard D. Ager

Associate Professor, Director, Porter-Cason Institute, Director, Center for Lifelong Learning, School of Social Work

(504) 862-3470

ager@tulane.edu

Addictions, Clinical practice, Community practice and facilitating the adoption of evidence-based practices in the community.


102709CarlBankston_9

Carl L. Bankston

Professor, Sociology

(504) 862-3024

cbankst@tulane.edu

International migration and Sociology of education.



burnette

Catherine Burnette

Assistant Professor, Social Work

(504) 862-3495

cburnet3@tulane.edu

Indigenous Communities, historical oppression, family violence, and mental health disparities.

 

 


buttell

Fred Buttell

Professor, School of Social Work, Director, Elizabeth Wisner Center for Research on Children and Families

(504) 865-3486

buttell@tulane.edu

Intimate partner violence, especially from the perspective of community-based, offender rehabilitation

 


campanella

Richard Campanella

Senior Professor of Practice, School of Architecture

(504) 862-8453

rcampane@tulane.edu

Urban geography, History and demography of New Orleans

 

 


chen-photo_1_1

Xiaojin Chen

Associate Professor, Sociology

(504) 862-3008

xchen1@tulane.edu

Migration and Children's Development in China, Life Course/Developmental Criminology,  Victimization, Research Methods, and Social Statistics.  

 


devine-photo_4

Joel A. Devine

Professor, Sociology, Director, Urban Studies

(504) 862-3003

devine@tulane.edu

Urban sociology, Political economy, Poverty, and Film studies.

 

 


dinerstein

Joel N. Dinerstein

Associate Professor, English, Director, American Studies, Director, New Orleans Center for the Gulf South

(504) 862-8168

jdinerst@tulane.edu

Twentieth-century American literature, African-American literature and expressive culture, Technology studies, and Popular culture (music and film).
Reggie-Ferreira_0060_1

Reggie Ferreira

Associate Professor, Social Work

(504) 862-3479

rferrei@tulane.edu

Community disaster resilience, Special needs populations, Social vulnerability studies.

 

 


Tulane University Professor Charles R

Charles R. Figley

Professor, Paul Henry Kurzweg Distinguished Chair in Disaster Mental Health, Director, Traumatology Institute, Associate Dean for Research, Social Work

(504) 862-3473

figley@tulane.edu

Psychology, Family studies, and Traumatology, Disaster Mental Health.

 


fitzmorris

Terrence Fitzmorris

Adjunct Professor, History, Associate Dean, School of Continuing Studies

(504) 865-5555

 tfitzmo@tulane.edu

Modern Louisiana history (1840s-Civil Rights Era), New Orleans history, Irish and Irish American life, and Louisiana during Huey Long's regime.

 


garcia_1

Guadalupe Garcia

Assistant Professor, History, Latin American Studies

(504) 862-8539

 ggarcia4@tulane.edu

Late-colonial and early-modern Latin American history, with a particular focus on urban history, the Caribbean and Cuba.

 

 


 062014_Gotham_330_pbcKevin Fox Gotham

Professor, Sociology, Director, Social Policy and Practice, Urban Studies, Associate Dean, School of Liberal Arts

(504) 862-3004

 kgotham@tulane.edu

Urban sociology, Comparative-historical sociology, Social theory, and Sociology of culture, race and ethnicity.

 


Houck

Oliver Houck

Professor, School of Law, Latin American Studies

(504) 865-5946

ohouck@tulane.edu

Environmental Law.

 

 


KJohnson Square

Katherine Johnson

Assistant Professor, Sociology

(504) 862-3016

kjohns25@tulane.edu

Sociology of Reproduction; Sociology of Health, Illness, and Healthcare; Family Sociology; Sociology of Gender, Feminist Theory.


kato

Yuki Kato

Associate Professor, Sociology, Social Police and Practice, Urban Studies

(504) 862-3010

ykato@tulane.edu

Urban/Suburban Sociology, Social Stratification, Sociology of Adolescence and Youths, Sociology of Culture, Social Psychology.

 


Carl_Kendall062015_1

Carl Kendall

Professor, Director, Center for Global Health Equity, Department of Global Community Health & Behavioral Sciences, School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine

(504) 988-5347

carl.kendall@gmail.com

Behavioral, sociocultural components of disease, Medical Anthropology, HIV prevention and treatment.

 


sally-kenney_1

Sally J. Kenney

Newcomb College Endowed Chair, Professor of Political Science, Executive Director, Newcomb College Institute

(504) 865-5422

skenney@tulane.edu

Women and Politics, Feminist Organizations, and Feminist Social Movements.

 


 Lay_Celeste1J. Celeste Lay

Associate Professor, Associate Chair, Political Science

(504) 862-8323

jlay@tulane.edu

American political behavior, with emphases on political socialization, rural and urban politics, voting behavior, and public policy.

 


 LeguizamonAmaliaAmalia Leguizamon

Assistant Professor, Sociology

(504) 862-3009

aleguiza@tulane.edu

Research Interests: Environmental Sociology; Development Sociology; Globalization; Technology & Socio-Environmental Change; Collective Behavior/Social Movements; Comparative Sociology/Historical Sociology; Political Economy; Agrarian Studies; Food studies; Latin American Studies.

ALopez

Ana M. Lopez

Director, Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute, Professor, Communication, Latin American Studies, Urban Studies, Associate Provost, Office of Academic Affairs

(504) 865-5261

lopez@tulane.edu

Latin American film, media, television, and popular culture. 

madkour

Aubrey Spriggs Madkour

Associate Professor, Department of Global Community Health and Behavioral Sciences, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine

(504) 988-1127

aspriggs@tulane.edu

Adolescent health and development, Partner violence, Social and contextual determinants of health outcomes, Social theory, Sexual and reproductive health, and Demography and population health.
masqueller

Adeline Masquelier

Professor, Anthropology

(504) 862-3594

amasquel@tulane.edu

Cultural anthropology, religion, medicine, gender; West Africa.

 

 


vmayer

Vicki Mayer

Professor, Communications

(504) 862-3035

vmayer@tulane.edu

Media audiences, production studies, communication labor, citizenship and culture, Latin American and Latino media, alternative and community media.


lauramckinney

Laura McKinney

Assisstant Professor, Sociology

(504) 862-3013

lauramc@tulane.edu

Environmental Sociology; Global Social Change and Development; Global and Local Sustainability; Rural and Community Development; Quantitative Methodologies.

 


JMcLachlan_7283_200w_1

John McLachlan

Weatherhead Distinguished Professor, Environmental Studies, Director, Professor of Pharmacology

(504) 988-6910

jmclach@tulane.edu

Environment, Human health, and Behavior.


lauramurphy

Laura Murphy

Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Global Health Systems and Development, Latin American Studies

(504) 988-2681

lmurphy2@tulane.edu

Population, Environment, Technology, and Development issues.

 


Chris Oliver_square Christopher Oliver

Professor of Practice, Department of Sociology and Environmental Studies  

(504) 865-5541

coliver6@tulane.edu

Urban political ecology, urban and environmental sociology, urban development and state policies.

 


otte_smMarlene Otte

Associate Professor, Sizeler Professor, History

(504) 862-8621

motte@tulane.edu

Modern European history focusing on Germany and cultural history.

 

 


raeburn

Bruce B. Raeburn

Assistant Dean of Libraries for Special Collections, History, Curator, William Ransom Hogan Jazz Archive

(504) 865-5685

raeburn@tulane.edu

History of jazz.

 


Rafail_4

Patrick Rafail

Assistant Professor, Sociology

(504) 862-3001

prafail@tulane.edu

Social Movements and Collective Behavior, Applied Statistics, Political Sociology, Social Control, Complex Organizations, Urban Policing, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing.

 


carol-reese-4-3

Carol McMichael Reese

Favrot Professor, Architecture, Director, CCC Program, Latin American Studies, Urban Studies

(504) 314-2328

creese1@tulane.edu

Architectural history, theory, and criticism and Urban history and theory, focused on 19th-20th centuries in the Americas.

 

 


TReese

Thomas F. Reese

Professor, Art History, Executive Director, Roger Thayer Stone Center for Latin American Studies

(504) 865-5164

treese@tulane.edu

Eighteenth-century Spanish art and politics, Culture contact in sixteenth-century Mexico, Devotional space in Colonial Andean society, and Contemporary architectural practice in Europe and the Americas.


sakakeeny

Matt K. Sakakeeny

Assistant Professor, Music, African and African Diaspora Studies, American Studies

(504) 865-5274

mattsak@tulane.edu

New Orleans culture, African American music.

 

 


schippers

Mimi Schippers

Associate Professor, Sociology, Gender and Sexuality Studies

(504) 862-3011

mimi@tulane.edu

Gender, Sexuality, Theory, and Cultural Studies.

 

 


kschwartz-deansblog

Kenneth Schwartz

Dean and Favrot Professor, School of Architecture

(504) 314-2361

kschwartz@tulane.edu

Preservation, Urban design and Community planning.

 

 


silva

G. Eduardo Silva

Lydian Chair Professor, Political Science

(504) 862-8312

gesilva@tulane.edu

Latin American Politics, Comparative Political Economy, Sustainable Development.

 

 


david_smilde-1441308903

David Smilde

Charles A. and Leo M. Favrot Professor of Social Relations, Sociology

(504) 862-3012

dsmilde@tulane.edu

Social movements, human rights and culture in Venezuela.

 

 


spitzer

Nicholas Randolph Spitzer

Professor, American Studies, Professor, Anthropology

(504) 865-5336

nspitzer@tulane.edu

American vernacular music, Ethnography of Gulf South expressive culture, Cultural conservation, Creoles and cultural creolization, Public cultural policy, Creative practice as producer and host of American Routes (co-produced by American Public Media).

taylor

Catherine Taylor

Associate Professor, Department of Community Health and Behavioral Sciences

(504) 988-0292

ctaylor5@tulane.edu

Children, social norms, and violence prevention, Child maltreatment, intimate partner violence and their co-occurrence, Child physical abuse, Determinants of childhood aggression, Mass media/communication and public health, Primary prevention, Program evaluation, Social epidemiology.

tetlowTania Tetlow

The Felder-Fayard Professor of Law, Associate Provost for International Affairs

(504) 862-8812

ttetlow@tulane.edu

Domestic violence, Discrimination, Constitutional law, and Criminal procedure.

 

 


Kat-Theall-r-1422461141

Katherine Theall

Associate Professor, Cecile Usdin Professorship in Women's Health, Director, Mary Amelia Women's Center, Department of Global Community Health & Behavioral Science, Public Health & Tropical Medicine

(504) 988-4535

ktheall@tulane.edu

Social determinants of health, social epidemiology, women and children's mental and behavioral health.
truitt

Allison Truitt

Associate Professor, Anthropology, Urban Studies

(504) 862-3058

atruitt@tulane.edu

Sociocultural anthropology, Economic transformations, Money and other means of circulation, Cities, consumption, and globalization, and Southeast Asia, Vietnam.

 


Mark-VanLandingham_1

Mark Van Landingham

Thomas C. Keller Professor, Department of Global Community Health and Behavioral Sciences, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine

(504) 988-2113

mvanlan@tulane.edu

Migration and Health, Immigrant Health, Disasters and Health, and HIV/AIDS.