shadow_tr
banner2




Program Director

Dr. Carol Reese
School of Architecture
Tulane University
New Orleans, LA 70118
Email: creese1@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 314.2328


Steering Committee

Michele Adams (Sociology)
Regardt Ferreira (Social Work)
Yuki Kato (Urban Studies)
Patrick Rafail (Sociology)
Carol M. Reese (Urban Studies)
 Qingwen Xu (Social Work)

 

 

 

 

 

City, Culture, and Community Faculty
(Alphabetical Order)


Name, Affiliation, &
Contact Information


Areas of Specialization






Michele Adams
Associate Professor,
Sociology
Gender and Sexuality Studies
(504)862-3015
madams2@tulane.edu


Sociology of marriage and family, Sociology of gender, Sociology of culture, Social theory, and Social psychology


Richard D. Ager
Associate Professor,
School of Social Work
(504)862-3470
ager@tulane.edu


Addictions, Clinical practice, Community practice and facilitating the adoption of evidence-based practices in the community


 


Carl L. Bankston
Professor,
Sociology
Asian Studies
(504)862-3024
cbankst@tulane.edu


International migration and Sociology of education.


 


Fred Buttell
Professor,
School of Social Work
Social Policy & Practice
Urban Studies
Director,
Elizabeth Wisner Center for Research
on Children & Families
(504)865-3486
buttell@tulane.edu


Intimate partner violence, especially from the perspective of community-based, offender rehabilitation


Richard Campanella
Associate Director,
Center for Bioenvironmental Research
Research Professor,
School of Science & Engineering
(504)862-8453
rcampane@tulane.edu


Urban geography, History and demography of New Orleans


Xiaojin Chen
Assistant Professor,
Sociology
(504)862-3008
xchen1@tulane.edu


Life course criminology, Victimization, Mental disorder, and Advanced statistical analysis


Joel A. Devine
Professor,
Sociology
Urban Studies
Director,
Urban Studies
(504)862-3003
devine@tulane.edu


Urban sociology, Political economy, Poverty, and Film studies


Joel N. Dinerstein
Associate Professor,
English
African & African Diaspora Studies
Director,
American Studies
(504)862-8168
jdinerst@tulane.edu>


Twentieth-century American literature, African-American literature and expressive culture, Technology studies, and Popular culture (music and film).


Charles R. Figley
Paul Henry Kurzweg,
MD Chair,
Professor,
Social Work
Director,
Traumatology Institute
(504)862-3473
figley@tulane.edu


Psychology, Family studies, and Traumatology, Disaster Mental Health


 
 

Regardt Ferreira
Assistant Professor
Social Work
(504) 862-3479
rferrei@tulane.edu


Community disaster resilience, social vulnerability and the impact of disasters on special needs populations.


Terrence Fitzmorris
Adjunct Professor,
History
Associate Dean,
School of Continuing Studies
(504) 865-5555
tfitzmo@tulane.edu


Modern Louisiana history (1840s-Civil Rights Era), New Orleans history, Irish and Irish American life, and Louisiana during Huey Long's regime


Guadalupe Garcia
Assistant Professor,
History
Latin American Studies
(504) 862-8539
ggarcia4@tulane.edu


Late-colonial and early-modern Latin American history, with a particular focus on urban history, the Caribbean and Cuba


Kevin Fox Gotham
Professor,
Sociology
Social Policy & Practice
Urban Studies
Associate Dean,
School of Liberal Arts
Director,
Social Policy and Practice
(504)862-3004
kgotham@tulane.edu


Urban sociology, Comparative-historical sociology, Social theory, and Sociology of culture, race and ethnicity


Oliver Houck
Professor,
School of Law
Latin American Studies
(504)865-5946
ohouck@tulane.edu


Environmental law


Yuki Kato
Assistant Professor,
Sociology
Social Policy & Practice
Urban Studies
(504)862-3010
ykato@tulane.edu


Urban/Suburban Sociology, Social Stratification, Sociology of Adolescence and Youths, Sociology of Culture, Social Psychology


Carl Kendall
Professor,
Community Health Sciences
(504)988-5347
carl.kendall@gmail.com


Behavioral, social and cultural components of disease, Medical Anthropology, HIV prvention and treatment


Sally J. Kenney
Newcomb College Endowed Chair,
Professor of Political Science
Executive Director,
Newcomb College Institute
(504)865-5422
skenney@tulane.edu


Women and Politics, Feminist Organizations, and Feminist Social Movements


Celeste J. Lay
Assistant Professor,
Political Science
(504)862-8309
jlay@tulane.edu


American political behavior, with emphases on political socialization, rural and urban politics, voting behavior, and public policy


Madeline Lee
Assistant Professor
School of Social Work
(504)862-3480
mlee17@tulane.edu


Improving services for vulnerable children and families involved in the intersection of the mental health, child welfare, and special education systems.


Ana M. Lopez
Associate Professor,
Communication
Latin American Studies
Urban Studies
Associate Provost,
Office of Academic Affairs
(504)865-5261
lopez@tulane.edu


Latin American film, media, television, and popular culture


Aubrey Spriggs Madkour
Assistant Professor,
Community Health Sciences
(504)988-1127
aspriggs@tulane.edu


Adolescent health and development, Partner violence, Social and contextual determinants of health outcomes, Social theory, Sexual and reproductive health, and Demography and population health


Adeline Masquelier
Professor,
Anthropology
(504) 862-3594
amasquel@tulane.edu


Cultural anthropology, religion, medicine, gender; West Africa


Vicki A. Mayer
Professor,
Communications
(504)862-3035
vmayer@tulane.edu


Media audiences, production studies, communication labor, citizenship and culture, Latin American and Latino media, alternative and community media


Laura McKinney
Assistant Professor,
Sociology
(504)862-3013
lauramc@tulane.edu


Environmental Sociology; Global Social Change and Development; Global and Local Sustainability; Rural and Community Development; Quantitative Methodologies


John McLachlan
Weatherhead Distinguished Professor,
Environmental Studies
Director,
Center for Bioenvironmental Research
(504)988-6910
jmclach@tulane.edu


Environment, Human health, and Behavior






 


Laura Murphy
Clinical Associate Professor,
International Health & Development
Latin American Studies
(504)988-2681
lmurphy2@tulane.edu


Population, Environment, Technology, and Development issues


David G. Ortiz
Assistant Professor,
Sociology
Latin American Studies
(504)862-3019
dortiz@tulane.edu


Social movements, Political sociology, Latin America, Quantitative research methods, and Race and ethnicity


Marline Otte
Associate Professor,
History
(504) 862-8621
motte@tulane.edu


Modern European history focusing on Germany and cultural history


 


Lawrence N. Powell
Professor,
History
Urban Studies
(504) 862-8622
powell@tulane.edu


Civil War and Reconstruction; Southern history; Louisiana history and politics; and the Holocaust


Bruce B. Raeburn
Adjunct Professor,
History
Curator,
William Ransom Hogan Jazz Archive
and Director of Special Collections
(504) 865-5685
raeburn@tulane.edu


History of jazz


Patrick Rafail
Assistant Professor,
Sociology
(504) 862-3001
prafail@tulane.edu


Social Movements and Collective Behavior, Applied Statistics, Political Sociology, Social Control, Complex Organizations, Urban Policing, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing


J. Emmanuel Raymundo
Assistant Professor,
Communication
(504)862-3040
raymundo@tulane.edu


Cultural, literary and political
representations of the city and its varied populations


Carol McMichael Reese
Associate Professor,
Architecture
Director, CCC Program
Latin American Studies
Urban Studies
(504)865-5389
creese1@tulane.edu


Architectural history, theory, and criticism and Urban history and theory, focused on 19the-20th centuries in the Americas


Thomas F. Reese
Professor,
Art History
Latin American Studies
Urban Studies
Executive Director,
Roger Thayer Stone Center
for Latin American Studies
(504)865-5164
treese@tulane.edu


Eighteenth-century Spanish art and politics, Culture contact in sixteenth-century Mexico, Devotional space in Colonial Andean society, and Contemporary architectural practice in Europe and the Americas


Matt K. Sakakeeny
Assistant Professor,
Music
African & African Diaspora Studies
American Studies
(504)865-5274
mattsak@tulane.edu


New Orleans culture, African American music


Mimi Schippers
Associate Professor,
Sociology
Gender and Sexuality Studies
Director,
Gender and Sexuality Studies
(504)862-3011
mimi@tulane.edu


Gender, Sexuality, Theory, and Cultural Studies


Kenneth Schwartz
Dean and Professor,
School of Architecture
(504)865-5389
kschwartz@tulane.edu


Preservation, Urban design and Community planning.


Eduardo Silva
Professor,
Political Science
(504) 862-8312
gesilva@tulane.edu


Latin American Politics, Comparative Political Economy, Sustainable Development


David Smilde
Charles A. and Leo M. Favrot Professor
of Human Relations
Sociology
dsmilde@tulane.edu


social movements, human rights and culture in Venezuela


Nicholas Randolph Spitzer
Professor,
American Studies
Adjunct Research Professor,
Anthropology
(504)862-3043
nspitzer@tulane.edu


American vernacular music, Ethnography of Gulf South expressive culture, Cultural conservation, Creoles and cultural creolization, Public cultural policy, Creative practice as producer and host of American Routes (co-produced by American Public Media).


Catherine Taylor
Asssistant Professor
Community Health Sciences
(504)988-0292
ctaylor5@tulane.edu


Children, social norms, and violence prevention, Child maltreatment, intimate partner violence and their co-occurrence, Child physical abuse, Determinants of childhood aggression, Mass media/communication and public health, Primary prevention, Program evaluation, Social epidemiology


Tania Tetlow
Associate Professor,
School of Law
Director,
Domestic Violence Clinic
(504)862-8812
ttetlow@tulane.edu


Domestic violence, Discrimination, Constitutional law, and Criminal procedure


Katherine Theall
Assoc. Professor, Global Community
Health & Behavioral Science,
Public Health & Tropical Medicine
(504) 988-4535
ktheall@tulane.edu


Social determinants of health, social epidemiology, women and children's mental and behavioral health


Allison Truitt
Assistant Professor,
Anthropology
Urban Studies
(504)862-3058
atruitt@tulane.edu


Sociocultural anthropology, Economic transformations, Money and other means of circulation, Cities, consumption, and globalization, and Southeast Asia, Vietnam.


Mark Van Landingham
Thomas C. Keller Professor,
International Health & Development
(504)988-2113
mvanlan@tulane.edu


Migration and Health, Immigrant Health, Disasters and Health, and HIV/AIDS


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 

 

 





Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000 website@tulane.edu