December 23, 2008

Good Morning:

Yesterday, I had the great honor and pleasure of giving a holiday surprise to some folks who give of themselves all year long. I'm talking, of course, about the winners of this year's Staff Excellence Awards.

These 10 staff members represent a wide variety of jobs and responsibilities but are united in their common goal to give their best every day to advance the mission of Tulane University. As you know, the winners are nominated on the basis of four criteria: increased productivity, enhanced objectives, cost savings and humanitarianism.

And this year's winners are: Kathryn Ball, director, Career Services Center, Admissions-School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, for increased productivity; Jake Calamusa, operations assistant, School of Continuing Studies, for humanitarianism; Candy Guedry, senior program coordinator, School of Science and Engineering, for enhanced objectives; Nick Jenisch, architectural assistant, School of Architecture, for increased productivity; Jeanne Johnson, section administrator, Pediatric Hematology-Oncology, for cost savings; Sheila Norris, senior accountant, Department of Medicine, for increased productivity; Robin Rodriguez, media/communications specialist, Information Technology/Primate Center, for enhanced objectives; Emelina Sanchez, office manager, Chemistry Department, for humanitarianism; Lawrence Smith, senior executive secretary, Center for Public Service for increased productivity; Adine Stoulig, nurse manager, Student Health Center for humanitarianism.

Award recipients received a $1,000 cash prize and will be honored at a dinner hosted by Margie and me at our home. Best of all, these winners now have the knowledge of the esteem in which you, their fellow staff members, hold them.

Have a great holiday,


Office of the President Emeritus, 1555 Poydras St, Suite 700, New Orleans, LA 70112 504-274-3638